Sweet 16 going on 17. Here’s to a brand new year! 


Good morning! 

I’m recently stuck in a quiet state of mind. Being I find it hard to find words to everything going on in my mind & in my life.

It’s been an exciting 2016 & I am fully looking forward to embracing 2017! 

One major undertask these few months have been Project Moving House. We’re shifting to a new place and I couldn’t be more excited! 

Hubs & I had been house hunting & absolutely fell in love with this apartment the moment we stepped in. 

It has a breathtaking view of the city though it’s a significant decrease in floor area compared to our current home. 

The challenge is planning out Montessori inspired play, study, sleep & family area for the boys, all in a 90 sqm home. Our goal was to declutter & get rid of unnecessary toys & clothings. By gosh there’s so many stuff we do not need! 

The second big change was getting rid of our car. We’ve been car-less for 2 weeks now. What I’ve noticed: Bubs walked more, he grew more aware of his surroundings on public transport, I walked more, LO is less cranky while traveling cos I babywear him, Grab & Uber are fantastic not to mention cost savings benefits. (It’s really expensive to own cars in Singapore) 

As I move into my 5th year as a SAHM, I am truely blessed to have walked this incredible journey by God’s grace. 

As I enter into a new year, here’s some personal resolutions I’d penned down. Oh yes, resolutions, I do keep them :p. 

1. Less screen time. More outdoors. 

Our new home is just a 10 minutes slow walk away from Bishan park, few train stations from Botanic Gardens, the Zoo, MacRitchie reservoir… These are beautiful outdoor places & I shall make no ‘oh these places are so far’ excuses. 

2. Read more. 

That’s encompassing both the boys & myself. I miss sitting down to a good novel & a cuppa jo. That’s easier said than done for myself. It’s finding time. The boys on the other hand, that’s easier & we shall start with that. 

3. Learn to cook new dishes. 

I made the same resolution last year. Thus far, I’ve perfected (well, almost) the fluffy pancake, cheesy croquettes, tried more soup recipes, homemade tomato pasta sauce, dashi stock, creamy porridge, poached eggs, learnt various twists to the hundreds of Chinese home cooked recipes… the learning journey is constant & gets more exciting each year. 

4. Learn to take better pictures

I love photography. Irony is I do not have a dslr. I’ve dabbled in film photography & have put all these aside when Evan came along. My other Fujifilm X100s got a little problematic. Then it got to a point where it’s tedious to lug extra weight when we head out. Baby, a boy, diaper bag, thermos, water bottles, stroller…. no one has the energy nor time to fumble with a big camera. 

Well, the best camera is the one you have with you. That’s my iphone. So my challenge this year will be to learn to take amazing photos with my iphone! 

5. Plan out more early childhood activities with my boys. 

This is gonna take some planning based on their learning preferences. Both are kinesthetic learners & I cherry pick & twerk activities from different early childhood teaching pedagogy for them. Mostly inspired by Montessori & Reggio. 

6. Spend more time with the Hubs. 

I can count the number of date nights we went on in the entire last year with 2 hands. Of course, with 2 small kids, these are expected. 

Our cell leaders & pastors told us that one of the best gifts to give your children is to love your spouse. 

That my Hubs & I totally agree. 

We are trying to get more creative with the idea of ‘date night’. If we can’t head out, we make our home conducive. Hopefully, get the kids to sleep early so we can spend quality time catching up while overlooking the view from our balcony. 

7. Learn something new. Go somewhere exciting. Make beautiful mistakes. 

Motherhood. It brings out the best in us, it brings out the worst in us. Here’s to my humbling journey as I learn to be a mother & raise my boys to be gentlemen. 

I’m constantly learning new things about them, about myself. 

I leave you with my favourite quote written by Neil Gaiman more than a decade ago:

“May your coming year be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and don’t forget to make some art — write or draw or build or sing or live as only you can. And I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself.” 

Neil Gaiman 

Here’s to an amazing 2017! 

XOXO,

Jingyi 

Leave a Reply

