Montessori At Home

5 Simple Montessori Inspired Activities Under $2

I’m extremely excited to share this special post on 5 simple Montessori-inspired activities in collaboration with One Dollar Only. This Singapore online wholesale company with hundreds of stationery & children gift items has become one of my favourite online shop for activity inspirations at very affordable prices!

Here are 5 Montessori set-ups for a 1-year-old and 3-year-old

Set of 10 Finger Puppets Sensory Basket

For my 1-year-old:

DSCF1844
DSCF1853 DSCF1864

This is a wonderful sensory basket for a 1-year-old. Evan is totally in love with the puppets and they catch his attention. They are a great tool for language & social development for babies and toddlers.

Our favourite songs with the puppets are “Five Little Monkeys”, “Old MacDonald Had A Farm”, “Wheels On The Bus”, “If You’re Happy & You Know It”, “Head Shoulders Knees & Toes”.

Simple games like Peek-a-boo or just pulling the puppets from my fingers is enough to send Evan into peels of laughter. 

For my 3-year-old:

Finger puppets are not Em’s ‘thing’ right now so Evan had the puppets all to himself. Though occasionally, Em would put on the finger puppets and play with Evan. Otherwise, these make great language building activities such as pretend play, storytelling & songs. 

Cost: $6. Buy them here.

(This is the only exception exceeding $2. But Evan loved it so much I had to share.)

Music

For my 1-year-old:

DSCF1831

For toddlers, it’s all about rhythm, dance, a love for music and simple musical instruments which they can easily manipulate. Evan loves playing the xylophone, banging things together, drums & shakers.

I set up a simple music instrument basket with these wooden maracas and a small cultural drum that I snagged on one of our vacations.

For my 3-year-old:

Em is more expressive with the maracas. It’s adorable how he pronounces it as ‘ma-ca-ca’. He took them everywhere, shaking them together with his brother & singing random songs. Best of all, it kept both brothers fully entertained during car rides.

Cost: Mini Wooden Maracas $1. Buy them here.

Lacing & Sewing

For my 3-year-old:

DSCF1868 DSCF1870

DSCF1875 DSCF1885

Lacing & sewing is a wonderful fine motor activity for a 3-year-old. It builds up pre-writing skills as it strengthens finger muscles. Em attempted to thread the yarn through the plastic needle & it’s not easy for him. I helped with that and Em sewed one panel of the sewing project, decorated the panels with stickers & scooted off.

I would say it’s excellent effort on his part to stay focused for 15 minutes, give or take.

I finished up the rest of the project for him. It’s important to understand that it is completely alright for a preschooler not to complete his artwork. Sometimes, I may leave it as it is, or I will help complete the project for him if it’s too challenging.

Poor Evan could only look & basically wreak a little havoc on the side.

Cost: Sewing Project – DIY Pen Holder $1. Buy them here.

Mathematics & Shapes

Fun fact: Did you know Tangrams originated from ancient China & the name tangram meant ‘seven pieces of cleverness’? Well, I didn’t until now. Glad to learn something new every day.

14448825_344450542562440_7953927670670060627_n

Tangrams are mind-bending puzzles that help develops logic, thinking & problem-solving skills.

For my 1-year-old:

Mostly exploring shapes & colours for Evan. If I see him piece a tangram together back in the square at 1 year old, I have a baby genius!

For my 3-year-old:

We played with the pieces together with a foldable mirror to explore the concepts of reflection & symmetry.

Activity Village provides free printables for Tangram shapes & puzzles. I’ve yet to print some of their puzzles for Em and I’m planning to do this activity with him next week.

 

Cost: Tangram $1. Buy them here.

 

 

String Art

 

For my 3-year-old:

“Creativity is inventing, experimenting, growing, taking risks, breaking rules, making mistakes, and having fun.” – Mary Lou Cook

If I were to give one activity that would calm a child down, that would be art.

Unbridled, free to create art.

I feel in love with this lovely string art kit & Em has been bugging me for 2 days to open the art kit.

The only expectation I had out of this session was for all of us to have fun & be creative.

I started by demonstrating how to stick the coloured strings onto the snail & Em did the rest on his own. There’s a big bunch of coloured strings & Evan had fun sitting beside me pulling strings while Em quietly did his artwork.

 

Here’s his final product!

DSCF1866

Cost: DIY String Art Kit $1.50. Buy them here.

Heve fun shopping at One Dollar Only Store! 🙂 It’s my newly discovered hunt for cheap (if not cheaper) children activities compared to Daiso. Heehee…

Xoxo,

Jingyi

*Note: One Dollar Only Store had generously given us the items above for review. We’re not paid to write this post.

Leave a Reply

