On Homeschool & Unschooling

Making Fantastic Giant Bubbles!

I had always wanted to try making giant bubbles. The only part was finding one of the most important ingredient – glycerin. I had NO idea it was so hard to find it in Singapore. Some recipes called for guar gum, equally hard to find.

I got my inspiration from Happy Hooligans.

Giant Bubble Recipe:

  • 6 cups water
  • 1/2 cup detergent
  • 1/2 cup corn flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon glycerin

I bought a bottle of glycerin from NTUC Unity. Turns out, drugstores sell glycerin! Just not the kind for consumption. I googled the difference between glycerin & glycerine, there’s no difference. They refer to the same compound, propane-1,2,3-triol.

Instructions:

Stir & dissolve the cornstarch in the water well.  Stir in the remaining ingredients gently to prevent bubbles from forming.  Allow the solution to sit for an hour minimum.

DSCF0653DSCF0654DSCF0658

It does gets better the more you play with it. The only gripe I had was that the bubbles pop too easily. Maybe it’s something with the mixture, or the way we created the bubbles. I found out later on that corn syrup might be a better option to make sturdier bubbles. Something about the sugar molecules bonding with the water… chemistry stuff. But hey, I shall try that out soon & see how the bubbles form.

DSCF0661DSCF0659

Making the bubble wand was easy. Most websites I read used two straws, thread a piece of yarn through and tied a knot. I improvised by using four straws. Threaded a piece of twine (twine is easier to thread through the straws compared to yarn) through two straws. Insert two more straws to use as holders to prevent soapy hands.

PS: I used Ikea straws as they are bigger & easier to thread. Might ‘steal’ [ahem] those big bubble tea straws next time :p

DSCF0650

Such a fun science activity with Big E. He thoroughly enjoyed making the solution as well as the bubbles!

Do you guys have your giant bubble recipe to share? I would love to try them out!

 

Love,

Jingyi

2 thoughts on “Making Fantastic Giant Bubbles!”

Leave a Reply

